Helsinki Baltic Herring Fair

We visited today, on the last day this year, the Baltic Herring Fair (silakkamarkkinat), which is a very traditional market and has been an annual event since 1743 (according to VisitHelsinki). Even though I am not a huge fan of the Baltic Herring, it has played a big role in the local diet for centuries, and the fair has a certain atmosphere to it. I love the fact that the fish, although most of it now in jars, is still sold from the boats. We spent a lovely morning on the fair but I won’t go into detail because Travellers Tree has written an awesome and informative post on the fair. So please take a look at to be tempted to visit the fair next year!

image

image

image

image

17 comments

  1. Not sure about Baltic Herring (but then I’ve never had it) but love the idea they sell it directly from the boats.

  2. This sounds cool. I have not tried Baltic Herring, I think, but I remember that things were sold from boats when I was in helsinki 🙂

    1. Really, maybe it was the fair then?

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever tried Baltic herring. I will have to try it someday. 🙂

    1. I can tell you it’s very fishy 😉

  4. Herring!!! Love it 🙂

    1. You are weird!!!
      If you come and visit, I promise to bake you a cake with herring 😉 (and now I shouldn’t be saying ‘if’ but ‘when you come and visit’, right? 😀 )

      1. OK…before I book the tickets, please note that I shall need my herring and my cake separated by at least 20 minutes.

        1. Excellent choice!:)

        2. You could make a herring cake?

          1. I have just voiced my opposition to that idea. Keep up 😉

            1. Oops 😉

          2. http://www.kotikokki.net/reseptit/nayta/220213/Aito%20savolainen%20Kalakukko%20(muikkukukko)/

            Technically it’s not traditionally herring and we’d call it “baked bread” (savoury) but that’s just details 🙂

            1. I was game for the herring cake, just because omg really? Anything once, right? Bread is almost tame in comparison 🙂

              1. lol, you are are a good sport 🙂

  5. Thank you very much for linking to my post! You really made my day!!! :)))

    1. No worries, it was an great post!

Leave a Reply

MRS FINNTASTIC

MRS FINNTASTIC ..........From HELSINKI to GRAVESEND

S/Y Galatea's Weblog

s/y Galatea (c) 2008-2017 all rights reserved

Konalla

Nelihenkinen perhe myi kaiken ja muutti Havaijille

Playful bus

Mommy life with baby twins and a toddler in Finland

