Rainy Day Circus in Itis Mall

The Itis mall in East Helsinki attracted us on the rainy Saturday with a promise of circus performances. I have hardly been there since the renovations but they certainly have made it even more child friendly. The first thing we saw was this:

wpid-20150131_140631.jpgwpid-20150131_140037.jpg

My son was sold: “it’s a circus train! This is a good place!” It wasn’t there due to the circus, as far as I could tell, the train is there on the weekends. A ride costs 2e (free for an adult accompanying a child shorter than 90cms).

Timagehings got even better: Moomin (we all know how all kids here love the Moomins)! When the train stopped, my kids ran after Moomin to give him hugs and this time I even got a great picture of the three of them together. Obviously Moomin was there to market the Moomin shop and gave the children discount vouchers there. I think they may want to rethink their marketing strategy: both my kids were determined to put the “Moomin cards” in their wallets and to treasure the card they got from Moomin. Lucky I didn’t even want to buy anything in the Moomin shop because those discount cards were off my limits.

Then finally we made it to the circus stage and had just time to see the end of an amazing hula performance. I was a bit late to think of taking a picture. ..

wpid-20150131_130626.jpg wpid-20150131_124413.jpg

We also watched a magician for a while. Later we saw a young man going around the mall throwing plenty of different things in the air too. Too bad we missed the air acrobatics. Maybe it’s time for a proper circus show soon? I haven’t done that since I was a child!

Anyway, I’m normally not very keen on spending a lot of time in crowded malls but the shortish circus performances totally worked for young and old!

The malls strategy totally worked: we went there tempted by the circus but of course we had to spend some time playing too, right next to my favourite shops for children’s wear. And they had sales there…

wpid-20150131_133115.jpg wpid-20150131_133143.jpg

P.S. the changing, nursing and toilet facilities for kids at Itis mall are probably one of the best ones in town. My kids wanted to revisit the “other play area”…. more about free toilets in Helsinki here

3 comments

  1. Looks like fun for adults and children. I love the circus and my son is obsessed with magicians and tricks, cool that the Moomins were there too!

  2. I miss the days that that was entertainment for my son! LOL. I mainly miss those days because I enjoyed them so much! That looks like such fun!

    1. Small children have been great guides to enjoy simple small things 🙂 we had sooo much fun!

Leave a Reply

Safira's Journey

Create Your Own Happiness

In Search for Better Learning

Ideas, interviews and inspiration to improve the way you learn and teach

Matkalla maailmalla - vielä yksi USAsuomeksi Blog

USAsuomeksi matkakertomuksia ja tapahtumia

MARISSA LEHTONEN

Ajatuksia työelämästä

round the world with my family

join us on our family gap year

