Iceskating Classes

imageDid you know most ice skating schools let you try one or two lessons for free? We tried a family lesson and had loads of fun! Obviously it is mainly aiming to teach kids ice skate but my husband thought he might get a few good pointers too (but honestly, for somebody who stood on ice skates for the first time as an adult he does quite well even supporting our kids on their skates!).

I was first thinking “why pay for lessons when we can just go for free when we feel like it and have fun ourselves”. In the winter there are ice rinks all over Helsinki, the ones without services are free to be used and even the more maintained rinks only cost a few euros. But then a beloved godmother reminded me of how I use to hate ice skating all through school to the point were I “accidentally lost” my ice skates in high school to avoid the classes where we had to play ringette. And I always loved sports at school! The things was, I could ice skate good enough to not get any tutoring how to do it better but not good enough to enjoy being on the ice skates. Feeling insecure on the ice skates didn’t get any better in a very fast game with class mates training on their skates every week. So, it wasn’t until about ten years ago when friends asked us to join them on the ice, just for fun, that I found how an enjoyable way it is to enjoy the winter. Therefore, as 4-6 years is an age were kids learn relatively easy the basics for ice skating, we decided to invest some time in it this year hoping to give them the basics and then they can later on in life decide if they want to build on the basics or not.

I didn’t expect the lesson to be so much fun though! First we had to learn how to fall. Cool, we were all great at that!

Then we walked like penguins, went for “fruit” to put back in the basket and played a number of other games too. One of the best parts was that there were no frames around, so our children did a lot of ice skating and finding their balance and speed.

Our children had improved heaps since last winter, and both wanted to go back. Also, I bet 15 times this autumn will get us all pretty used to our ice skates. As our daughter is pretty good on her skates already, she has also been offered to transfer to a group without parents. But for us it is a fun way to spend time together and we are welcome to and play all together too.

Ice skating schools are not free: one season (September-Christmas or January-April) cost about 150e for about 15 lessons. Considering the cost of children’s hobbies here, it is not a bad price. But if you are not sure if your child or you yourself are up for it, you are allowed to try one or two lessons for free depending on the school you choose. I recommend it, it is fun!

Outdoor rinks in Helsinki will come, when it is chilly enough, usually in November. But the indoor rinks have free ice skating times as well, here are the schedules for last year but with links to the homepage were to check the times for this year. And yes, the season is on, even though it feels weird to back finger gloves along when it still is warm outside…

20 comments

  1. […] the language of the majority in this society with a lot of opportunities to hear it. Their hobbies, ice skating and gymnastics (inspired by Gymnaestrada), are also in Finnish. Also, I’ve been speaking it […]

  2. I used to figure skate – this makes me want to do it again! Oh the memories πŸ™‚ Thanks for the trip down memory lane! (PS I think my butt hurts from the memory of falling, too!)

    1. Haha, god we only fell softly πŸ™‚ you should totally go and refresh your memories again, it was so much fun !

      1. I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t be able to skate around in a circle by this point! It’s been over 15 years!

        1. It might be like riding the bike..? !

          1. Haha, I haven’t done that in a long time too, but I’m sure THAT would be easier than figure skating!

  3. I would love to try ice skating. I’ve been a few times in the US and also at the Christmas markets in Germany and Paris. I can manage to go around the rink without falling, but I’d probably be a mess in a fast game. That is a super fun idea to have lessons as a family, and not a bad price at all. You’ll have to let us know what everyone thought of and learned from the 15 lessons when they’re over.

    1. I’ll get back to you with how this ends.

  4. I took ice skating lessons for years as a kid, but never really expelled (weak ankles)… roller skating though, I was awesome! haha

    1. I started roller blading in Germany, and we found all Finns rocked it immediately but not all Germans. I think the difference was we grow up on ice skates but not all Germans do!

      1. That makes sense for sure. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh dear – time for me to brush off my skates again? ; )

    1. Sounds superb! Welcome to join us πŸ˜€

  6. That’s sounds like an excellent family activity. Even though we live in Australia, we actually have an ice rink not far away. I’m thinking of checking out whether they have family lessons too. Secretly, I’d love to play ice hockey, but I should probably learn to skate first! (;

    1. Learning how to skate should be a bonus when playing ice hockey! πŸ˜‰

  7. I am SO good at falling!

    1. You’d fit our group perfectly then!

  8. I would have been excellent at falling too. When I wasn’t clinging to the side that is πŸ˜‰

    1. You weren’t allowed anywhere near the side, that was the beauty of having to skate πŸ™‚

  9. Sounds like a great and fun family thing to do!! We are all terrible with our technique, a free lesson for the whole family would be just the thing!!

Leave a Reply

atticraft

Crochet, Cats, and Crafts...oh and Food too!

The Snow Melts Somewhere

Travel photo blog - travel stories and dreamy images

Finland My Home

Fascinating reflections by real people who've moved to Finland

Reetta K.

Ruokaintoilija / reissaaja / yrittΓ€jΓ€

MRS FINNTASTIC

MRS FINNTASTIC ..........From HELSINKI to GRAVESEND

