Alone at Home

Last week I had a glimps into how my life was before the kids came 6 years ago: I had to stay home because of work but my husband was at away working the week and my kids at my parents. so I was alone.

What a special treat!

I have hardly been alone for 6 years, mostly when alone not at home, and certainly not alone at home for several days and nights in one go.

Funny how much time there was!

I worked longer days than normally but still managed so much. I could first sit down for a cuppa when I came home. Or I could catch up with a friend without hurrying to pick up kids from kindergarten. There were hardly home chores to do because there was nobody to make the place a mess, there was hardly any laundry, and I wasn’t about to cook for just me (there is yogurt, there is salad and there are restaurants and cafes. Who needs something else?).I had time to exercise 2-3 hours every day (my body was in for a chock…), watch TV (which I hardly do at all otherwise) AND sleep long nights.
image

This was my last week of work before summer holidays. Usually, by the time my summer holidays are here, I am so exhausted that I feel I truly need them. This time, I felt full of energy and was happy to embrace more time to spend with family and friends. What a difference! I know what i will wish for my next birthday/Mother’s day present!!!

But then, awww, the cuddles I got when I got my beloved people home again. One week alone was great but it was also enough. Now I feel I have more energy for my family again!

2 comments

  1. Now I get what you mean on peace and quiet at home 🙂
    I wouldn’t have known what to do if I get such a luxury. It is like back to those days when I had no kids. The silence in the house would have knocked many thoughts and inspirations in my head and prompted me to write vigorously on the blog. Or maybe I would be busy revamping the house deco and busy myself to fight off the silence. Coincidentally, I have read one more mummy blogger’s post on a temporary 3 weeks without kids by her side too. I have not had a short period of alone time without kids and should contemplate on it some day.

    1. I was happy I decided to just do what I feel I need most and leave all the “should do’s” till a later day. But I’ll have another similar week in August coming up, maybe then I finally go through the last unpacked moving box…😉 before autumn hectic kicks in.

Leave a Reply

In Search for Better Learning

Ideas, interviews and inspiration to improve the way you learn and teach

Matkalla maailmalla - vielä yksi USAsuomeksi Blog

USAsuomeksi matkakertomuksia ja tapahtumia

MARISSA LEHTONEN

Ajatuksia työelämästä

round the world with my family

join us as we plan our family gap year

Towards the Horizon

Packing up the house and kids and heading for the horizon

