Pompoms and Easter

Pompoms and Easter may sound like a weird combination but as I’ve mentioned before, I think the good part of a celebration often consists of the anticipation, and that common crafts are a good way to build up the excitement.

At first I thought I’d knit Easter eggs to decorate willow branches with. But my children are too small to knit.

Then my brother’s wife popped in, and she brought these:

image

They are genius for making pompoms! My daughter has made plenty with these, but I doubt she’d yet be able to make them the old way, using a needle and getting the yarn though a hole in the middle of a cardboard circle. And won’t these pompoms make our Easter willow branches look cheerful and colourful?!
image

21 comments

  1. […] here to find another crafts idea for Easter and here to find other ideas for toilet […]

  2. They look great! I use to make them when I was a kid and loved it. We use to make the rings out of cardboard. It’s times like these I wish I had a girl….or the boys were younger. Thanks for the memory

    1. You are welcome πŸ™‚ if you fly up, I’ll lend you a daughter πŸ˜‰

      1. Ha,haa thank you! πŸ™‚

  3. Now you’ve reminded me! I used to do these when I was 10. I need to find out where to get the tools. It’s fun and I used to make chicks, penguins and animals πŸ™‚

    1. Cool, you’ve developed them, I may try that too after Easter!

  4. Great idea! I have a question… What is an Easter willow branch?

    1. I’ll show you when we’ve done them! But it is part of the pagan Easter tradition here that a week before Easter ( what do you call that day in English, Palm Sunday?) we decorate willow branches with colourful feathers, pipe cleaners and other small things kids dress up as Easter witches and go from door to door with some lyrics saying pretty much “give me lollies and I’ll give you one of these pretty willow branches”.

      1. How interesting! Sounds like Halloween in the states!

        1. Yes, a bit similar!

  5. Love those pompoms!! πŸ™‚

  6. I used to make these with the traditional cardboard circles when I was a kid. What fun that was πŸ™‚

    1. Me too, the good old days, aye?! πŸ˜‰

  7. Okay, now that’s just brilliant! I have no need to make pompoms, but now I want to! LOL. And yes, I think they’ll look great decorating the willow branches!

    1. haha, you and my 3 yo have something in common πŸ˜‰

  8. Hm, I used to like making pom poms. I wonder if I could get my two into it? Or at least P, being older?

    1. Let me know how it goes! But I’m telling you, those things to do them with are really helpful even though I was really suspicious of the need first.

      1. I don’t even know where to get one! I guess I was thinking more of the old cardboard way.

        1. Just a department store? Or crafts shop?
          Maybe P is big enough to deal with the cardboard as well, my girl wouldn’t have the patience yet, am not quite sure of her skill with the needle either.

          1. I can have a look – I do need a couple of things.

Leave a Reply

The Snow Melts Somewhere

Travel photo blog - travel stories and dreamy images

Finland My Home

Fascinating reflections by real people who've moved to Finland

Reetta K.

Ruokaintoilija / reissaaja / yrittΓ€jΓ€

MRS FINNTASTIC

MRS FINNTASTIC ..........From HELSINKI to GRAVESEND

